John 6:35-40 ~ Kept By Christ

This past week in 12:13 we studied John 6:35-40. We learned that all who come to Christ are kept by Christ.

In verse 37 Jesus says, “All that the Father gives me will come to me, and the one who comes to me I will certainly not cast out.”

shepherd-staff

In John 9 we learn the story of a man born blind. John tells us that Jesus and his disciples passed by this man. Jesus’ disciples asked a question: “who sinned, this man or his parent that he would be born blind?” Jesus responded, “it was neither that this man sinned nor his parents; but it was so that the works of God might be displayed in him.” The Lord then put clay on the man’s eyes and sent him away to wash in the pool of Siloam. When he washed away the mud, he found that he could see! The man was then brought before the religious leaders who questioned him about what happened and about Jesus. After a long and increasingly hostile conversation the man who was formally blind spoke out for Christ. John then tells us that the religious leaders put that man out. In other words, “you don’t belong here, you’re not welcome here, and don’t come back.”

Jesus says to his people, “I will never do that to you.” “The one who comes to me I will certainly not cast out.”

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me; and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.”

(John 10:27-30)

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

